You are here
Premier League 

Top teams who never won the Premier League

5) Newcastle United 1995/96

Newcastle United sold Andy Cole to rivals Manchester United, in a move which angered sections of fans as the club succumbed to a sixth place finish. The following summer of ’95, manager Kevin Keegan spent the money gained from Andy Cole’s sale, bringing in the likes of David Ginola, Les Ferdinand and goalkeeper Shaka Hislop. The Magpies ran riot in the Premier League, building a 12-point gap over Manchester United by January. However, a poor run of form saw Newcastle drop points against Manchester City and West Ham as Manchester United gained ground in the race. A home defeat at the hands of Manchester United was followed by a 4-3 loss to Liverpool at Anfield. Keegan’s men failed to stand up to the pressure, eventually missing out on the title by four points.


4) Liverpool 2013/14

One of the greatest Premier League sides in recent years, Liverpool looked set to win their first title in 20 years as Luis Suarez led the Reds’ charge. The Reds’ attacking trio of Sturridge, Sterling, and Suarez created havoc as Liverpool dominated the league for the most part. However, in one of the most astounding moments of the Premier League, Steven Gerrard slipped against Chelsea as Ba scored to give a defensive Chelsea the lead. Liverpool failed to break down Chelsea defence, losing the game 2-0, virtually handing Manchester City the title. Their charge took a further blow when Crystal Palace came back from 3-0 down to win 4-3, leaving Suarez crestfallen on the pitch. Manchester City’s win on the final matchday ended Liverpool’s adventure.


3) Manchester United 1997/98

Before the miraculous season of ’99 wherein United won the elusive treble, the club had remarkably failed to win the title a season before. Despite having an 11-point gap over Arsenal by March, United failed to lift the title at the end of May. Part of it was down to Arsene Wenger’s free-flowing playing style. The Gunners’ right mix of English and French talent combined to lead Arsenal to a seven-game unbeaten run, including a vital win over Manchester United. As Arsenal looked unstoppable, Manchester United failed to keep up with the Gunners, losing to Liverpool and Newcastle United and thus surrendering the league title from their grasp.


2) Arsenal 1998/99


Football fans remember the season of ’99 as the year Manchester United won the treble; however, things could have been a lot different. After leapfrogging Manchester United for the league title a season before, Wenger’s men looked set for another title charge. And for a while, it did look like Arsenal would retain their title, especially when the club thrashed Manchester United 3-0 at Highbury. However, a loss to Leeds on a penultimate day saw Arsenal’s title challenge take a heavy blow. Despite their win on the final day, Arsenal failed to win the title as United won the League.


1) Leeds United, 2000/01

After an impressive season of ’00, wherein Leeds ended in the third place, the club looked to fight for the title the following season. Bringing in talented players like Ferdinand and Viduka, the club expected to build on an excellent season. The club played some of the best football English clubs had ever played in the Champions League. However, their European adventure cost them the league as the club faltered to six defeats between November and January. Despite going on an unbeaten streak for the next four months, Leeds’ early season form came back to bite them as the club finished in fourth position. One only wonders what Leeds could have done if there was no European commitment.

Related posts

Leave a Comment